Some Helpful Readings on Social Media

28 Oct

My course on Social Media is turning out to be way more informative than I originally thought it would be (not to mention I am actually learning about Research Methods in this course more so than other courses I have taken…including a separate course on Research Methods. But that is neither here nor there).

So I thought I would share some of the readings I have found most helpful so far:

Google Speaks: Secrets of the Worlds Greatest Billionaire Entrepreneurs, Sergey Brin and Larry Page

by Janet Lowe

I learned a lot more about Google than I thought I would ever know! :) However this book did inspire me to try out some new things using Google. I am pretty sure I NEED to work at the Googleplex (Preferably the Dublin, Ireland location! *Ahem* Google I can send you my CV!!!).
I tabbed a lot of the pages to come back to later and bookmarked webpages that I can use later on (like www.bananaslug.com). However, because Google is so fluid in their side projects, several of the items mentioned in the book were already removed from Google Labs by the time I read the book (which was published in 2009). Otherwise, it was very interesting to see how our Gracious Overlord was born. :)
It is definitely worth a read if you are in the information business. :)

This Book is Overdue: How Librarians and Cybrarians Can Save Us All

by Marilyn Johnson

I have had this on my “to read” list for a while (if I am completely honest, it is because I love the title and the cover, CYBRARIANS! You really can’t do wrong with a Librarian with a cape and an e-reader flying off to save people…).

 

First let me say that this is a book written about Librarians by someone who is NOT a Librarian. So seeing the profession from someone else’s viewpoint was refreshing! I might, however be biased, as the author does love us! She also has great quotes like, “Are Librarians obsolete in the Age of Google? All I can say is, are you kidding? Librarians are more important than ever. Google and Yahoo! and Bing and WolframAlpha can help you find answers to your questions, sometimes brilliantly; but if you don’t know how to phrase those questions, no search engine can help provide answers.” (p. 20). I think that is brilliantly phrased! Another favorite quote is, “And Librarians aren’t programmed to say, ‘We have no idea’ The words feel like chalk in their mouth” (p. 39).

I have learned a lot about the Alternative Librarians. And what I mean by that is, the Librarians who have created Libraries in places like Second Life, blogging Librarians, those promoting Radical Reference, those using various Social Medias, and the list can go on!

I am still reading it (I am about 70% through it) but I have learned so much about new ways Librarians are creating or using to “step out of the building” (p. 105) and creating a presence online. And let’s face it, that is where a bulk of our patrons will seek us out!

A great must read!!

The Facebook Effect

by David Kirkpatrick

This book highlights the birth and life of Facebook starting from the halls of Harvard through present (well 2010 at least). There really isn’t much to say about this book. But it is worth reading if you would like to see how something as small as University’s paper facebook handouts can spark a multi million (billion?) dollar company. Check it out!

Articles

And lastly, here are links and citations for some of the articles I have read (most of which were assigned class readings) but are nevertheless very interesting and worth a quick read.

2 Responses to “Some Helpful Readings on Social Media”

  1. Ariana Santiago November 2, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

    “This Book is Overdue” is also on my “to read” list, and your review has convinced me that I need to hurry up and read it!

    • Amanda Richards November 3, 2012 at 11:05 am #

      I have already quoted from it multiple times and I am not even done with it yet. I also have taken a line or two from it to use for my “elevator speech”.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 385 other followers

