Networking through Social Media

18 Oct

In Libraries it is important to network, especially since most of us are looking for our first jobs. As most of you are aware, LinkedIn is a great resource for networking in a professional setting, but there are other sites that offer networking. Another thing to be aware of is your public image online. Here are some of the tricks I have learned and the sites that I have used.

LinkedIn

This site allows users to upload resumes as well as create personal profiles that employers can search through. That is LinkedIn at it’s very core, however the last few years have seen several additions to the site. One such addition is discussions which allows you to interact with professionals in the field on a variety of topics. I have joined several of these discussion boards and have it set up to send me emails once a week collating all of the unread posts. I have come across many interesting articles this way.

LinkedIn also added endorsements allowing you to ‘endorse’ friends, family, or coworkers. The endorsements are pre-selected, I think, and you just click on the bubble next to a contact’s name to endorse them. I know I am not explaining it very well, but go and check it out!.

Lastly, they have a newsfeed option that is very similar to Facebook. You can post status updates, comment,  and ‘like’ friends’ posts. I personally don’t use this feature, but I do have this blog as well as my Twitter feed linked to it so that it posts all of my updates from these two sites to my LinkedIn wall (There is an option to link your Facebook account as well, but I like to keep that one site private, but it is an option).

Klout

I am fairly new to Klout, but I do find that I like it! It is easy to create an account just register using Facebook or Twitter. Once you have an account just update your profile with all the information you are comfortable with then link all of your social media accounts that you wish to link, sit back and wait for your score.

Your Klout score shows you how influential you are on the internet. (I am at 63! Which isn’t too shabby if I say so myself. I have some celebrity friends on here as well who are paid to be social media nerds and their scores are only about 5-10 points away from me…) It tallies how frequently your Facebook posts are liked and shared, how many times your Tweets are retweeted or favorited, it basically tallies all the social media sites you subscribe to and lets you know how popular you are among your friends. It also shows your friends’ scores (assuming of course that they are on Klout as well). I am not sure exactly how this would get you a job, but there is definite networking potential here somewhere… I’ll find it eventually, probably when I have more free time!

BrandYourself

BrandYourself helps you to create your brand image online. This doesn’t sound very important until you think about how employers seek you out and how they try to find information about you. This site gives you the tools and holds your hand while you help bring your positive search results to the first page of Google and subsequently bury the negative or unrelated links.

Currently my score is a D- (this task is proving difficult as I have a very common name, and my fellow Amanda Richards’ are very visible. There is a singer, a Transsexual, and a smattering of other individuals by the same name). I have however brought my BrandYourself page as well as my blog page to the first page of Google results which is very exciting!

When you log on you are greeted with little thought bubbles that guide you. They have made branding yourself practically effortless. They show you secrets like adding your full name to the metadata of all of your social media accounts, as well as advise you to use the same name and photo on all of your accounts for continuity. It is very easy and free to use the basic service. However if you want more options there is a pay-for option as well.

I think that is about it for now. Using these 3 tools together I have noticed my LinkedIn inquiry count jump from 1-2 views a week to 8-10. I haven’t had and job offers yet, but that is probably due to my lack of applying for positions because I have been very busy preparing and taking Comps (Which I just finished 2 days ago!!!) So now I am going to settle back, and work on the copious amounts of reading and writing I have to do for the remainder of the semester.

Let me know if you have tried these services and what you think of them. Do you have other networking or Branding sites that you use? Tell me about them in the comments!

Leave a Reply

